The Cracks.

I panicked. Panicked because I wanted to say both yes and no, when you said that you loved me and wanted to spend the rest of your life with me.

Yes because obviously…

And no because, well… Haven’t you seen​ my flaws diffused heavily and uniformly? The dark side, the black bits and charred pieces all put together to form an unartistic mosaic. The scars of the past, healed nonetheless, still reeking of blood and fresh flesh. The ghosts of my fears and insecurities haunting and hunting me day and night. The battles between my mind and heart, leading to pyrrhic victories no matter who wins. And you say you find your harmony and peace in my eyes! My eyes! Which burn bright with the flames of self pity and diffidence. The loud mouth with all it’s acerbic vocabulary. My mind, a devil’s workshop and my heart, an empty chamber with the darkest secrets. Haven’t you ever noticed all this!

And as if, reading my mind, you just replied, ‘The cracks… that’s where the light gets in.’

Leave a Reply

