Apprentice in Life

Teach me, Oh Master!

The ways of the world

How well the lies camouflage

And the flags of fury unfurl.

Sneaking into other’s lives

Stealthily and unwelcome

Schooling in human robotics

That we have already become.

Snatchings away from the pockets

Of men poorer than us

Tutor me about greed

Theft and mistrust.

Train me in hypocrisy

Feed the cynic in me

For I am an apprentice in life

And that’s not what I wish to be.

I wish to rise higher

On these rungs so deadly

Teach me, Oh Master!

The lessons of adultery.

Leave a Reply

