Fire and Light

And I felt fires for you…
For everything that you were
For everything that we were
For everything that you did to me
For everything you made me believe
For how you made me feel.
And then
The red hot scarlet embers
Of love and lust
And other ungodly emotions
Burned me down
Charred me into ashes
Fed on me
And my feelings
As you left.
Left me alone
To deal with this arson.
But when I watched myself
Getting torched up
In my own light
I rose higher than the cinders
Realizing
Phoenixes existed.
In reality too.

Leave a Reply

